Massachusetts Vintage Snowmobile Registration

Massachusetts Vintage Snowmobile Registration Law

Compiled by Jeff Gamelli and Randy Toth

Massachusetts Vintage Snowmobile Registration

Please note that the following Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) list is current as of 10/24/2015. Since the law is in the process of being implemented, there may be some minor future implementation updates. If you have any doubts or questions, please contact a “Boat, Recreation Vehicle & Snowmobile Registration Bureau Registry Office” for clarification.

Chapter 502 AN ACT RELATIVE TO THE REGISTRATION OF VINTAGE SNOW VEHICLES

Approved, January 8, 2015

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Court assembled, and by the authority of the same as follows: Chapter 90B of the General Laws is hereby amended by inserting after section 22 the following section:

Section 22A. A state resident or non-resident who owns a vintage snow vehicle may register the snow vehicle pursuant to section 22 as a vintage snow vehicle upon making proper application and paying the registration fee to the director. A snow vehicle shall, at the time of registration, meet the sound and emission specifications in effect at the time the snow vehicle was manufactured.  For the purposes of this section, a vintage snow vehicle shall be a snow vehicle that is more than 25 years old and that is substantially maintained in original or restored condition.

 

A vintage snow vehicle registration issued by the director for a snow vehicle shall authorize the vehicle to be operated only for the purpose of traveling to, returning from and participating in an exhibition, parade or other public event of interest and for occasional personal use.

 

Notwithstanding said section 22, the registration fee for each vintage snow vehicle shall be determined annually by the secretary of administration and finance as provided in section 3B of chapter 7; provided, however, that the registration shall be valid until the ownership of the vintage snow vehicle is transferred to another person. Upon the transfer of ownership, a new owner may register the snow vehicle as a vintage snow vehicle upon making proper application and paying the vintage snow vehicle registration fee.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Q: Is the vintage snowmobile registration law in effect now?

A: Yes, the law is in effect now.

Q: My snowmobile is over 25 years old. Will it automatically be registered as a vintage snowmobile?

A: No it will not be automatically registered as vintage. You must request that it be registered as a vintage snowmobile.

Q: Can the vintage snowmobile be registered online?

A: No. A vintage snowmobile cannot be registered online.

Q: Can the vintage snowmobile registration be done via regular mail?

A: Yes, you can register by mail. Please be sure to include a note specifically asking the registry for the vintage registration category and you must supply all required documentation (see below).

Q: Can the vintage snowmobile registration be done in person at a “Boat, Recreation Vehicle & Snowmobile Registration Bureau Registry Office?”

A: Yes. You must specifically ask for the vintage registration category and you must supply all required documentation (see below)

Q: How long is the vintage registration good for?

A: The vintage snowmobile registration is good for as long as you personally own the sled. You will need to notify the registration office within 15 days of any change of address or change of ownership. You can complete a Status Change Form to notify the registration office of these changes. You can download this Status Change Form at www.sport.state.ma.us

Q: If I register my 25 plus year old snowmobile as a vintage snowmobile, can I ride it anywhere I choose to?

A: No. The vintage registration was established for those who collect old snowmobiles. There are very specific instances where the vintage registration applies such as: “A vintage snow vehicle registration issued by the Director for a snow vehicle shall authorize the vehicle to be operated only for the purpose of traveling to, returning from and participating in an exhibition, parade or other public event of interest and for occasional personal use”.

Q: What if I go out riding with my vintage snowmobile and get stopped by law enforcement?

A: You could be charged with riding an unregistered (improperly registered) snowmobile and get fined and charged in accordance with the law if you fail to operate it in the manor described in the previous question.

Q: What do I have to do if I want to ride my vintage snowmobile as I do my regular snowmobile?

A: Simply register your sled as a regular snowmobile and be sure to have a trail permit if on a SAM trail.

Q: What constitutes “occasional personal use?”

A: No formal definition; other than “occasional personal use”. Be smart and don’t risk a big fine for improper registration.

Q: What will my vintage registration look like?

A: The registration card will state “Vintage” on the card.

Q: If I participate in a SAM authorized vintage ride, do I need a vintage registration?

A: Yes, you will need to register your vintage snowmobile to participate in a SAM authorized vintage ride according to the new vintage registration law. However; please check with the official event organizers to see if the Director of the Office of Law enforcement has issued a special event permit which may exempt participating vintage sleds from the registration requirement for that particular event only. Remember, you will still need to be a SAM member to participate.

Q: What do I do if I thought I registered my sled as a vintage snowmobile online and got a “regular” snowmobile registration?

A: You will probably have to visit a “Boat, Recreation Vehicle & Snowmobile Registration Bureau Registry Office” with the proper documentation (see below) and try to get the registration modified.

Q:  What will I receive for a sled decal with a correctly processed vintage registration?

A: You should receive a set of standard 3 x 6 registration numbered decals for your sled. The expiration date decal will be determined at a later date by the registry. If stopped by law enforcement, your registration decal and standard registration card stamped vintage should be sufficient.

Q: What do I need to register my snowmobile as a vintage snowmobile?

A: Please bring the following before heading out to the registry:

  • Per Law Enforcement: An inspection is required before your vintage sled can be registered. Please call 1-800-632-8075 to make an appointment. There is no fee for this inspection. Please allow at least 7 to 10 business days for inspection to take place. The inspecting officer will complete and sign an inspection form to give to you to turn into the registration office with your required paperwork.
  • Bill of sale, showing buyer and seller’s name, address and signatures, VIN, date of sale, description of what was sold and the amount the vehicle was sold for;
  • Proof of sales tax paid (ST-6 form) you can pay your sales tax online at mass.gov/dor. Print out the receipt once you receive a confirmation number.
  • A completed and signed registration application. You can download this form at sport.state.ma.us.
  • Required fee of $44.00 payable to Commonwealth of Massachusetts in check form only. No cash or credit cards accepted.
  • If registering by mail, insert a note requesting a vintage registration.

Please note: If the customer is a non-resident, applying for a vintage snowmobile, they must bring the sled into Massachusetts before an inspection can take place. The customer will need to make an appointment with an Environmental Police Officer and arrange a meeting place for the inspection.

SAM will try to arrange for a vintage inspection station at some SAM/Club sponsored events throughout the upcoming season to help get vintage sleds ready for vintage registration.

Q: How is the sled age calculated when registering the sled as a vintage sled?

A: The sled must have been manufactured more than 25 years ago and substantially maintained in original or restored condition and not modified. (For example in the year 2015 – Your sled must have been manufactured prior to 1990).

Q: For an old sled without a prior registration or valid bill of sale, how do you prove ownership?

A: You will need to bring in or mail the following to the registry office:

  • Notarized statement of facts concerning this sled. This statement must contain the following: how long you have owned the sled and how you obtained ownership of the sled. A description of the vehicle along with the VIN must be included in the statement. Please also include any prior registration history, current or expired in this statement.
  • As per Law Enforcement, an inspection is required before the vintage sled can be registered. Please allow at least 7 to 10 business days for inspection to take place. (see above for details)
  • Sales tax receipt ST-6 form from the Massachusetts Department of Revenue
  • Completed and signed registration application
  • Required fee of $44.00 payable to Commonwealth of Massachusetts in check form only. No cash or credit cards accepted.

Q: What if I do not have proof of having paid the sales tax?

A: Please contact the Massachusetts Department of Revenue with any questions you may have concerning this sales tax. You can reach them at: 1-800-392-6089.

Q: What types of licenses can be purchased through the MassOutdoors website?

A: You can renew your registration or process a duplication registration online. (A vintage registration will not have to be renewed for as long as you personally own the snowmobile. You will need to notify the registration office within 15 days of any change of ownership or change of address. You can complete a Status Change Form to notify the registration office of these changes. You can download this Status Change Form at www.sport.state.ma.us.)

Q: What types of licenses CANNOT be purchased through the MassOutdoors website?

A: You cannot register anything new for the first time online. You can only process a registration renewal or a duplicate registration online.