Snowmobilers take a break on a long trip

2022 Vermont safety course registration

Saturday, November 19, 2022 | 9am–7pm
Sunday, November 20, 2022 | 9am–3pm
The Big E, Young Building | West Springfield, Massachusetts

Register below for the 2022 Vermont safety course at the Sled Expo!

This course will take place on Saturday, November 19 from 9am–3:30pm (6-hour course). While the safety course is free, course registration requires a $5 non-refundable fee which includes 1 adult entry to the Sled Expo, bagged snacks and drinks.

Please note, each participant needs to fill out this form and submit payment separately. For additional information related to this course, scroll to the bottom of this page. Light snacks and beverages will be provided but we encourage you to bring a bagged lunch as this is a 6-hour course. 


The deadline has passed for online registration.

Vermont State Law requires anyone born after July 1, 1983, and who is 12 years of age and older, to complete and pass a six-hour safety course.   

The Vermont Snowmobile Safety Course is provided by the Vermont Department of Public Safety in cooperation with the Vermont Association of Snow Travelers. Safety classes are sponsored by local snowmobile clubs and taught by club volunteers, and are usually held in the fall and early winter. Persons wishing to attend a course must register as early as possible as class size is limited.


Children who are 8, 9, 10 or 11 years of age are not required to take the snowmobile safety education course. However, if they take the course, and pass the test, by themselves (No parental assistance) they will be certified.

Ages 8 to 11, Eight years of age, but not yet 12

  • The operator age 8 – 11 is exempt from taking a safety course.
  • May operate a snowmobile on the VAST trail system without taking the safety course as long as they are under the direct supervision of a parent or legal guardian who accepts full liability for the child’s actions.
  • The child is not allowed to operate a snowmobile on or across a plowed public right of way.
  • Children ages 8 – 11 may attend a classroom snowmobile safety course. If the child takes and passes the course and test, (No parent or instructor assistance) they will be certified and receive their snowmobile safety certificate.

Ages 0 to 8 (Children under the age of eight)

May not operate a snowmobile on the VAST trail system at any time.

For further information about snowmobile safety education, and/or to register for a course other than what is offered at the Sled Expo, please contact the Vermont State Police Recreational Enforcement & Education Unit at (802) 878-7111, ext. 2211